I just received a (spam) email from info@automaticdomains.com telling me that they were offering a variation to a domain name for sale and that “it would make an excellent addition to your existing” [collection of domains].  When I tried to reply to the email, I received the following response:

This email address is not monitored. Please contact us at info@belldomains.com.

(I hope someone is scraping these email addresses?!?   :o)

First of all, they don’t even own the domain name they were trying to sell me (no one does!):


Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.

>>> Last update of whois database: Thu, 08 Mar 2012 14:11:52 UTC <<<

Anyway, if I click on the link in the email, I’m taken to the belldomains.com web site.  When I went to their main page, it asks “Did you receive an email from us? Enter the domain below to see if the domain name is still available.” and prompts me for a domain name.  I entered a domain that I knew didn’t exist (like “belldomainssucksbigtime.com”) and I got this interesting response

I get a kick out of how it says “It is listed as a premium domain name and is expected to sell quickly.“!!   :o)

It probably doesn’t reflect too well on the “Domain Name Owners Association (DNOA)” that Bell Domains claims to be a certified seller either.